On The Soapbox

Dear Ask a Prosecutor,
I’m in custody awaiting trial on a series of robberies, all of which were caught on tape. (7-11 has security cameras. Who knew?) Anyway, whenever I go to court my lawyer never tells the judge what I think he should. Do you have any tips for talking to the judge directly?

All the best,
Vociferous

Dear Vociferous,
I can understand your frustration. The person wearing a suit and tie, who went to law school, passed the bar, and has probably been practicing nothing but criminal law for at least a few years couldn’t possibly express your thoughts as eloquently as you. Plus, there’s probably no risk at all of you saying something that could dig you into a deeper hole than that in which  you’re already sitting.

Here are some things you can tell the judge:

  • “It was only $200, why is this a felony?”
  • “I didn’t do a burglary, I just stole some stuff.”
  • “Will I get my pipe back?”
  • “Please fire my lawyer.”
  • “This is bullshit.”

Make sure you interrupt the judge, especially if he’s telling you not to speak because you could incriminate yourself.

Try not to read Miranda,
AAP

About askaprosecutor

Deputy Prosecutor in California. View all posts by askaprosecutor

Leave a comment